Double Crunch Honey Garlic Chicken

FINALLY! Another post! I have missed this blog for so long and am so glad to be back ūüôā I had a test I was studying for the last couple of months and promised myself I would put all of my extra time and energy into studying. However, I am glad the test is over and oh so glad to be sharing my recent recipes again. While I was studying the last couple of months I was still cooking‚Ķa girls gotta eat right?! So here are several of the amazing recipes I have thoroughly enjoyed. I hope you like them too! Oh, one more quick note, I promise I will start taking more pictures of the food I make‚ĶI am not the best food photographer so you will have to forgive me on that one.

Breaded Chicken before the sauce was added. Sorry I do not have one of the finished project!

Breaded Honey Garlic Chicken before the sauce was added. Sorry I do not have one of the finished product…we were quite hungry ūüôā

So this is a lot of pressure, the first recipe after being gone a couple of months. It’s called Double Crunch Honey Garlic Chicken. I found the recipe on Pinterest and it is originally from this site:¬†http://www.letsdishrecipes.com/2013/02/double-crunch-honey-garlic-chicken.html

My husband and I loved this chicken! When I was originally looking at the ingredients I kept wondering where the crunch came in. There are so many recipes on Pinterest right now made with chicken breaded in corn flakes that I kept expecting to see some cereal in the ingredients. After biting into this however, I quickly learned how it got its name. This is a MUST MAKE recipe. It is truly delectable. My husband was going crazy over it. Seriously… I heard Mmmm mmmm the whole time he was doing the dishes haha.

*I made a couple of adaptations from the original recipe. I thought the sauce was a little too salty so I will lessen the soy sauce next time (this is already modified in the recipe below along with the salt in the mixture the chicken is dipped in). Also, I eliminated the step of dunking the chicken in the sauce before serving. I drizzled a little on each piece and thought that was plenty. It was extremely flavorful and the soy sauce added a delicious Asian flare.

Prep: 20-25 minutes

Cook: 10- 15 minutes

Ingredients:

For the chicken:
4 boneless skinless chicken breasts
1 cup flour
1.5 teaspoons salt
2 teaspoons pepper
1 tablespoon ground ginger
1 tablespoon ground nutmeg
1 teaspoon ground thyme
1 teaspoon ground sage
1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
2 eggs
4 tablespoons water
1/4 cup canola oil, for cooking chicken

For the honey garlic sauce:
2 tablespoons olive oil
3-4 cloves minced garlic
1 cup honey
2 tablespoons low sodium soy sauce
1/2 teaspoon pepper

Directions: Place the chicken breasts between two sheets of wax paper and pound with a meat mallet to an even 1/2 inch thickness.  In a medium shallow dish, combine the flour, salt, pepper, ginger, nutmeg, thyme, sage and cayenne pepper.  In another shallow dish, whisk together the eggs and water.   In a medium bowl, combine the ingredients for the sauce and mix well.  Set aside.

Preheat the oil in a large frying pan over medium heat.¬†¬†Dip the chicken into the flour mixture, then the egg wash.¬† Return the¬†chicken to the flour mixture and coat again, pressing on the flour to coat well.¬† Place the¬†chicken in the hot oil and fry for 4-5 minutes per side, until golden brown (I cooked mine a little longer each side just because I am really cautious with meat…when in doubt, use a meat thermometer).¬† Drain on paper towels (if needed, I did not use this step). Drizzle the sauce over the chicken and serve.

Serves: 4 chicken breasts

Happy Eating!

One thought on “Double Crunch Honey Garlic Chicken

Leave a Reply

